Winners 2023

Europe’s top event for independent cinema, ÉCU – The European Independent Film Festival announces its 2023 award-winning film, including its highest honour, “Europe’s Best Independent Film”.

We were thrilled to have for the second year in a row a hybrid festival, being able to see the joy in filmmakers’ and film-lovers’ eyes and reaching a broader audience through an online version of the festival. With 57 films from 28 countries participating to the festival this year, ÉCU 2023 ended its indie-packed festival with its established final ceremony recognizing 26 award winners in 14 categories.

For the last 18 years, ÉCU has been helping to launch and expand the careers of many talented independent filmmakers. The Festival is extremely proud to assist these passionately driven artists who create incredible cinema without the benefits of large production budgets. ÉCU’s mission to discover and promote extraordinary independent films from around the world renders it a major European cultural event.


Europe’s Best Independent Film 2023The Red SuitcaseCyrus Neshvad
Best European Independent Dramatic ShortFERRARRIEBoris Biaou
Best European Independent Dramatic FeatureThe First TwoBalázs Szövényi-Lux
Best European Independent DocumentarySavage WatersMikey Corker
Best Independent Experimental FilmBoyVladimir Loginov
Best European Independent Music VideoDuelAlberto Nacci
Best European Independent AnimationCaramelle Matteo Panebarco
Best European Independent ComedyBABELAlex San Martín
Best Non-European Independent Dramatic ShortMiddle Eastern Stories: FatherReza Dagagh
Best Non-European Independent Dramatic FeatureYes Repeat NoMichael Moshe Dahan
Best Non-European Independent DocumentaryMemories From The NorthAbdulmohsen Almutairi
Best Student FilmLenaAda Gabor
Best Short Script1918Written by Jenna Brister
Best Feature ScriptL’EteWritten by Apolline Bas & Victor Mirabel
Best ActorThe First NightActor – Ctirad Götz
Best ActressGet Home SafeActress – Dena Abay
Best EditingCourageJasmina Pusök & Star Bazancir
Best CinematographyYou Are Not Ivan GallatinCinematographer: Joseph Areddy
Best DirectorLoveTimo Bénit
Special Jury MentionDividing LineViktória Szemerédy
Special Jury MentionNonnaPaco Sepúlveda
Special Jury MentionWatermelon NightsHassan Sabri
Audience AwardInternalCasey Eldridge
The Ahmed Khedr Award for Excellence in Arab Filmmaking.TransitBaqer Al-Rubaie
Excellence in Women’s FilmmakingSeven Minutes and Thirty-One SecondsSolmaz Gholami