Winners 2019

Europe’s premier event for independent cinema, ÉCU – The European Independent Film Festival – announces its 2019 award-winning films, including its highest honour, “Best European Independent Film 2019.”

After showcasing 79 films from 30 countries, ÉCU 2019 ended its indie-packed weekend with a dazzling final ceremony recognizing 26 award winners in 14 categories. Winners included: SYDNEY, directed by Paul Wyett (UK) for Best European Independent Dramatic Short; RWANDA, directed by Riccardo Salvetti (Italy) for Best European Independent Dramatic Feature; and EL HOR, directed by Dianne Lucille Campbell (UK) for Best Independent Experimental Film. Artjom Baranov took home Best Director for PIG HEART (Germany). Together with Arab Cinema Center, ÉCU is proud to award Ahmed Khedr Excellence in Arab Filmmaking to FACES IN THE SUN by Farah Shaer (Lebanon, USA). The award for Best European Independent Film 2019 went to PIGGY (Spain), directed by Carlota Martínez Pereda.

During the festival weekend, international audiences were exposed to film and their filmmakers from across a spectrum of experiences, cultures, and genres. The Director Q&A sessions provided a great informal setting for discussion between the audience and the directors on filmmaking, while after-parties throughout Paris extended these conversations into the music-fuelled early morning hours. ÉCU endeavours to provide a cultural platform not only for entertainment but also for active networking across the independent film world.

For the last 14 years, ÉCU has been helping to launch and expand the careers of many talented independent filmmakers. The Festival is extremely proud to assist these passionately driven artists who create incredible cinema without the benefits of large production budgets. ÉCU’s mission to discover and promote extraordinary independent films from around the world renders it a major European cultural event.


Europe’s Best Independent FilmPiggyCarlota Martínez Pereda
Best European Independent Dramatic ShortSYDNEYPaul Wyett
Best European Independent Dramatic FeatureRWANDARiccardo Salvetti
Best European Independent DocumentaryTHE QUIET REBELCarole Cassier
Best Independent Experimental FilmEL HORDianne Lucille Campbell
Best European Independent Music VideoBIRTHPLACEJorik Dozy, Sil van der Woerd
Best European Independent AnimationAUGENBLICKE – A BLINK OF AN EYEKiana Naghshineh
Best European Independent ComedyPATER FAMILIASGiacomo Boeri
Best Non-European Independent Dramatic ShortTHE MOUSELiat Akta
Best Non-European Independent Dramatic FeatureIN GOD I TRUSTMaja Zdanowski
Best Non-European Independent DocumentaryWOMEN OF THE GULAGMarianna Yarovskaya
Best Student FilmREVERIEPhilip Louis Piaget Rodriguez
Best Short ScriptCLEMENTWritten by German Perugorria Pans
Best Feature ScriptCOURTESY OF THE KAISERWritten by Mark Larson
Best ActorMark Weinmanin SEX ED by Alice Seabright
Best ActressSylvie Le Clanchein LE MAL BLEU by Anaïs Tellenne and Zoran Boukherma
Best EditingSUBMISSIONMusic Video by Gary Coogan
(Director: Savvas Stavrou)
Best CinematographyTHIRD KINDby Yannis Kanakis
(Director: Yorgos Zois)
Best DirectorPIG HEARTArtjom Baranov
Special Jury MentionSKINGuy Nattiv
Special Jury MentionSALAMClaire Fowler
Special Jury MentionI LOVE MY MUMAlberto Sciamma
Audience AwardEVERYTHING YOU DIDN’T SAYCharlie Reader
The Ahmed Khedr Award for Excellence in Arab Filmmaking.
Presented in collaboration with Arab Cinema Center
Excellence in Women’s FilmmakingJOCAndreea Valean