Winners 2022

Europe’s top event for independent cinema, ÉCU – The European Independent Film Festival announces its 2022 award-winning film, including its highest honour, “Europe’s Best Indipendent Film”.

After two online-only editions, we were thrilled to finally be able to come back in person and see the joy in filmmakers’ and film-lovers’ eyes. With 58 films from 24 countries participating to the festival this year, ÉCU 2022 ended its indie-packed festival with its established final ceremony recognizing 26 award winners in 14 categories.

For the last 17 years, ÉCU has been helping to launch and expand the careers of many talented independent filmmakers. The Festival is extremely proud to assist these passionately driven artists who create incredible cinema without the benefits of large production budgets. ÉCU’s mission to discover and promote extraordinary independent films from around the world renders it a major European cultural event.


Europe’s Best Independent Film 2022Soul of a BeastLorenz Merz
Best European Independent Dramatic ShortUselessRaquel Guerrero
Best European Independent Dramatic FeatureEarly WeddingCsaba Vékes, Tamás Olt
Best European Independent DocumentaryMeanderSam Geyskens, Vincent Everaerts,
Lander Haverals
Best Independent Experimental FilmNorwegian Nature, Suburbia and the Creatures Living ThereRolf Christian Heldal
Best European Independent Music VideoDavid Lindmer // OmenDrust
Best European Independent AnimationA Brief History of UsEtgar Keret
Best European Independent ComedyActionBenoît Monney
Best Non-European Independent Dramatic ShortC-SectionMehrshad Kheradmandi
Best Non-European Independent Dramatic FeatureHamoun’s NightHamideh Moeinfar
Best Non-European Independent DocumentaryFrom Trash to Treasure: Turning Negatives Into Positives in LesothoIara Lee
Best Student FilmStagnantKonrad Kultys
Best Short ScriptFurry GirlTiphaine Haas
Best Feature ScriptSo I PaintLee Whittaker
Best ActorSoul of a BeastPablo Caprez
Best ActressI AmMelodie Wakivuamina, Sheri Hagen
Best EditingViscera: Autopsy of a (Non)Human BodyArturo Bandinelli
Best CinematographyStarched CollarsMiguel Valencia
Best DirectorKlabautermannAnke Sevenich
Special Jury MentionTrumpets in the SkyRakan Mayasi
Special Jury MentionTo Be ThereNefeli Chrysa Avgeris
Special Jury MentionHourglass HouseYinghai Hu
Audience AwardThe Letter RoomElvira Lind
The Ahmed Khedr Award for Excellence in Arab Filmmaking.Room 217Srwsht Abarash
Excellence in Women’s FilmmakingSilent ZoneCaren Wuhrer