Winners 2024

Europe’s top event for independent cinema, ÉCU – The European Independent Film Festival announces its 2024 award-winning film, including its highest honour, “Europe’s Best Independent Film”.

We were thrilled to have for the second year in a row a hybrid festival, being able to see the joy in filmmakers’ and film-lovers’ eyes and reaching a broader audience through an online version of the festival. With 53 films from 23 countries participating to the festival this year, ÉCU 2024 ended its indie-packed festival with its established final ceremony recognising 26 award winners in 14 categories.

For the last 19 years, ÉCU has been helping to launch and expand the careers of many talented independent filmmakers. The Festival is extremely proud to assist these passionately driven artists who create incredible cinema without the benefits of large production budgets. ÉCU’s mission to discover and promote extraordinary independent films from around the world renders it a major European cultural event.


Europe’s Best Independent Film 2024Wild SummonKarni Arieli & Saul Freed
Best European Independent Dramatic ShortBus From AdanaJochem de Vries
Best European Independent Dramatic FeatureAlias WolfOscar Spierenburg &
Tobias Spierenburg
Best European Independent DocumentaryAYITI, a Haitian StoryClément Beauvois, Kevin Duval, Valentin Gaffie, Alexis Pautler
Best Independent Experimental FilmSomaArturo Bandinelli
Best European Independent Music VideoRen – Money Game Part 3Ren Gill & Samuel Perry-Falvey
Best European Independent AnimationPurgaGintarė Valevičiūtė Brazauskienė. & Antanas Skučas
Best European Independent ComedyTaxiConstantinos Nikiforou
Best Non-European Independent Dramatic ShortIt Turns BlueShadi Karamroudi
Best Non-European Independent Dramatic FeatureX Kills MeDing ZiJun
Best Non-European Independent DocumentaryGrasshopper RepublicDaniel McCabe
Best Student FilmPushAnastasia Seregina
Best Short ScriptComment J’ai Perdu Mon Ongle De PouceWritten by Siham Medjahed
Best Feature ScriptThe ProdigalWritten by Thomas O’Malley
Best Feature ScriptCatching FirefliesWritten by Lee Whittaker
Best ActorThey Call Me ChinoActor: Manel Llunell
Best ActressBreakfast Of ChampionsActress: Sabrina Robinson
Best EditingExitEditor: Reza Abiyat
Best CinematographyThrough GloomCinematographer: Milda Juodvalkytė
Best DirectorThe Moon RisesGaspard Vignon
Special Jury MentionDead Man Walking (DMW)Jacob Polat
Special Jury MentionI C UVincent Zhou
Special Jury MentionThe Grand BookArjan Brentjes
Audience AwardJohn Adams. Get Up The YardJose Ángel Catalán Ruiz
The Ahmed Khedr Award for Excellence in Arab Filmmaking.SalehZaki Alabdullah
Excellence in Women’s FilmmakingSeize the SummitArwa Damon & Binnur Karaevli